Locked in a room with something I fear

The daily prompt today is to describe what would happen if you were locked in a room with your worst fear.  At the moment that would be spending another three hours trying to decipher computer code to make my website more visible on Google.

Having noticed that the website for my music school doesn’t appear on many of the relevant searches I thought I should try and do something about it. I suppose the smart approach would have been to talk to someone who actually knows about these things but that’s not for me. I bought a book and it’s called Get to No.1 on Google by Ben Norman. Catchy title; it appears to say it can do just what I’m looking for.

I think it’s been thought out very well. So far there have been many handy screen-shots to show you what your computer should be doing and it goes about describing a lot of the free software included in Google Webmaster, which is very useful. It’s applying that knowledge that I’m finding hard.

For instance once you log onto Google Webmaster it asks you to verify your website by planting a bit of code onto your home page… Ok but where exactly? In the title box, the main text, the side bar the menu? I tried them all and all failed the verification test.  The book doesn’t explain this (or if it does then I haven’t reached that page yet) fortunately Google itself offers other solutions. The first was this piece of code and the second is creating a sub-domain through your host. Lost yet? I was, thank God for step by step. Until, that is you get to the last step when you get the red error message of doom and suddenly it won’t work after all.

Their other suggestion is to include a Meta Tag in the html code under the header but before the body, I think. But there are no instructions on how to do this either. By process of random clicking I found a box in my settings menu that said you could input things in html. It didn’t say where but I gave it a go anyway and HURRAY it works!

Storm Dynamics has now been verified on Google through its Meta Tag. I have no idea what this is or what it does but I’m very pleased with myself for managing to do it.

Any ideas what the next step is?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Greatest Fear_ | A Blog for Laura Lee

Leave a Reply

